For articles on topics related to English, search the following EBSCO databases:
EBSCOhost - Academic Search Premier - This database contains articles from 4,500 magazines and journals; full-text and scholarly options.
Opposing Viewpoints - Includes viewpoint articles, magazine, journal and newspaper articles, statistics, images, and website links
Issues and Controversies-- Articles on hot topics in politics, government, business, education and popular culture
Literature Resource Center - Contains articles, critical essays, topic overviews, works, biography and author information. Encompasses all genres, disciplines, time periods and world wide
Bloom's Literary Reference Online - Essays on the lives and works of great writers.
Short Stories for Students - Accesses more than 2,000 scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 world wide authors from all time periods.
EBSCOhost - Regional Business - Full text coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
Biography Reference Center - Collection of more than 450,000 biographies
Credo Reference - Subject specific references including images, maps, in-depth writings, biographical writings, sound files and more
EBSCO eBooks - Over 125,000 electronic books available for viewing with an internet connection
Gale Virtual Reference - Collection of electronic books on a variety of topics
YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.
When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter:
ECC ID # followed by EC
If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560
Use Boolean operaters to combine keywords.
AND - combines two or more words and the results will contain all the words
OR - broadens the search to include either keyword in the results; great for synonyms
NOT - narrows the search by excluding a keyword
Enter a title, but exclude starting "The" "An" or "A"
Last name, First name
Library of Congress Subject Headings Index
The subject of the book is about x, y, z.
A special language used in library catalogs and research databases, it can narrow the results better than keyword
Review the abstract or summary of the article for "Subject Terms" These are clickable and will generate a new search with the focus of the article on THAT subject. You can combined more than one subject in the Advanced Search Option.
The Library can help you improve your searching to find your resources.
Articles and Scholarly Journals