Choose by Subject of Research
Art
Biography
Business
Career
Controversial Issues - Pro/Con Research
Criminal Justice and Legal Issues
Education
General Research and Local Resources
Global and Cultural Studies
Government and Political Science
History
Language and Literature
Music Resources, Audio
Nursing and Allied Health
Psychology and Sociology
Science and Technology
YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.
When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter:
Your Name
ECC ID # followed by EC
For example:
Jill Smith
0123456ec
If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560
Databases provide access to journals, newspapers, magazines, reference books, images, music, statistics, videos and more. Majority of these resources are full-text. These resources are typically more up to date than books.
Databases are credible resources available to ECC students 24/7 from any internet device.
Databases have been selected for the courses offered at ECC and for the education levels of Associate and Bachelor degree coursework.
With over 2 dozen databases to choose from, it can be confusing as to where to start. Here are a few helpful tips:
Open Firefox and do a Google search for "Texting and Driving"
Open EBSCOhost Databases (click above link), choose Academic Search Premier search for "Texting and Driving"
|
|
EBSCOhost - ASP |
| 28,000,000 results | 198 results |
| Advertisements included | Advertisments are not included |
| Must evaluate ALL websites (CRAAP test) | Must consider if articles are relevant to topic |
| Images (maybe copyrighted) | Limited images (can be used for coursework) |
| No personal assistance | Librarian chat box included |
| Wikipedia listed | Articles or books |
| Sorted by ??? | Sort options of date, relevancy, source |
| How to cite? | Citation tool, just copy and paste |
Results by EBSCO are limited to articles, not cluttered with advertisements and have a citation tool option. EBSCO is a better option for this type of research.
