LibGuides: CIV 201: European Civilization 1: Journals & Articles Online

Recommended online journals & websites

Many magazines and journals publish online as well as in print. Some have restricted online access to only certain articles or paid subscribers.

Many of these journals can be found full-text and completely free through ECC Library's EBSCOhost subscription.

Here are a few magazines and direct links. Just select "Search within this publication", enter keyword, and also check mark Full-Text under limiters for the best results.

International Journal of the Classical Tradition
Articles and essays on the creative use made of the ancient Graeco-Roman heritage in other regions and periods of literature, the arts, philosophy, the sciences, politics, etc.
Early Medieval Europe
Provides information and debate on the history of Europe from the later Roman Empire to the eleventh century. Topics include archaeology, palaeography, literature, diplomacy, art, history, linguistics, as well as more traditional historical approaches.
Comitatus: A Journal of Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Publishes articles by new scholars working in any field of the Middle Ages or Renaissance.
Journal of Medieval Religious Cultures
Publishes essays on mystical and devotional texts, especially but not exclusively of the Western Middle Ages.
Journal of Medieval & Early Modern Studies
Scholarly studies on any aspect of late Medieval and Early Modern culture and society including art, literature, theatre, music, philosophy, theology and history.
Historical Research
Peer reviewed articles about history. Articles cover a wide geographical & time span - from the early middle ages to the twentieth century - & cover a variety of approaches to history, including social, political, urban, intellectual, & cultural history.
Phronesis
Scholarly journal for the study of ancient Greek and Roman thought (ancient philosophy, psychology, metaphysics, epistemology and the philosophy of science and medicine) from its origins down to the end of the sixth century A.D.
German History
Principally covers the history of Germany & other German- speaking areas, but also covers other aspects of German life & culture which have a clear historical relevance.
Cultural Studies
Explores the relation between cultural practices, everyday life, material, economic, political, geographical, & historical contexts.

Databases for Research - Online Articles

Find free, full-text articles 24/7 using ECC Library databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Resources from journals and books with worldwide coverage of humanities
ALL DATABASES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Choose from the entire list of databases including Academic Search, Greenfile, Masterfile, Business, Medline, Education and more

Off Campus Login

YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.

When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter:

Your Name
ECC ID # followed by EC

For example:

Jill Smith
0123456ec

If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560

CRAAP Test - Current, Relevant, Accurate, Authority, Purpose

Information about almost any subject is easy to find; however, not all information is good information. An essential part of academic research and writing is learning how to critically analyze and evaluate sources to eliminate old, incorrect, or irrelevant information. The CRAAP Test (current, relevant, accurate, authority, purpose) is a guide for analyzing your research sources, including websites, articles and books. Here is a link to an accessible PDF of this information.

By scoring each category on a scale from 1 to 10 (1=worst, 10=best possible), you can give each site a grade on a 50 point scale.

45-50 Excellent

40-44 Good

35-39 Average

30-34 Borderline

Below 30-Unacceptable

Current: The timeliness of the information

When was the information published or posted?
When was it revised or updated?
Do you require current information, or will older sources work?
Are the links functional?

Relevant: The importance of the information for your needs

Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
Who is the intended audience?
Is the information at an appropriate college level?
Are you confident in the source to cite in your paper?

Authority: The source of the information.

Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
Is the author qualified on this topic, what are their credentials?
Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?
examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net

Accurate: The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.

Where does the information come from?
Is the information supported by evidence?
Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
Can you verify information in another source?
Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?

Purpose: The reason the information exists

What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?
Do the authors make their purpose clear?
Is the information fact, opinion or propaganda?
Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?

This information has been adapted from "Evaluating Information-Applying the CRAAP Test" by the staff at Meriam Library, California State University-Chico. The source material can be accessed here.
"Evaluating Information-Applying the CRAAP Test." 17 Sept. 2010. Meriam Lib., California State University-Chico. CSU-Chico ReSEARCH Station. Web. 2 July 2013.