Skip to main content

Databases, Articles, Images, Ebooks and more Online Resources: Alphabetical List of Online Resources

This guide is about databases and other credible online resources at ECC Library. A list by subject, alphabetical or by type is included as well as tips and tutorial for certain databases such as EBSCO and Opposing Viewpoints.

Alphabetical list of Resources

This list are subscription based online resources of East Central College Library.  If you need assistance in choosing a resources try the Subject List of Online Resources page or contact ECC Library.

African American Music Reference - Biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies covering blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression

American History Online - More than 500 years of political, military, social and cultural history; includes primary sources, videos and more

ARTstor - Images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences

Biography Reference Center - Collection of more than 450,000 biographies

Bloom's Literary Reference Online - Essays on the lives and works of great writers

CINAHL - Articles from professional nursing journals and related information

Classical Music Reference Library - Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music

Classical Scores Library - Collection of 400,000 pages of classical scores including works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions

CQ Researcher - Reports and analysis of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy (limit 5 simultaneous logins)

Countries, Peoples and Cultures - Ebooks, (9 volumes) on the Social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe.

Credo Reference - Subject specific references including images, maps, in-depth writings, biographical writings, sound files and more

The Chronicle - Online version of The Chronicle of Higher Education

EBSCOhost - Academic Search Premier - Articles from 4,500 magazines and journals; full-text and scholarly options 

EBSCOhost - Associates Programs Source Plus - Journal and book resources related to 2 year college programs and vocational studies

EBSCOhost - Business Source Premier - Business journal articles covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more 

EBSCOhost – Education Professionals PreK - Graduate – Variety of resources related to elementary, secondary and graduate students and instructors

EBSCOhost - Humanities International Complete - Resources from journals and books with worldwide coverage of humanities

EBSCOhost - PyscINFO - Articles and book chapters of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health

EBSCOhost - Regional Business - Full text coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States

EBSCOhost – ALL DATABASES – Choose from the entire list of databases including Academic Search, Greenfile, Masterfile, Business, Medline, Education and more

EBSCO eBooks - Over 125,000 electronic books available for viewing with an internet connection

Films On Demand - Digital streaming videos on a wide variety of subjects. *Obtain additional password from instructor or library.

Gale Literary Sources  - Full-text literary content of authors, works, literary movements, criticism, articles, reviews, and genres.  Searches Lit Finder, LRC, Scribner's, Twayne's and Short stories for students in this single resource.

Gale Virtual Reference - Collection of electronic books on a variety of topics

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online - Articles about music from all the world's people including overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes, a description of specific musical genres, photographs, drawings, maps, and musical examples

Global Issues in Context - Global perspective of international issues from variety of media formats and sources

Great Lives from History: 19th and 20th Century - Essays on historic figures from 1801-2000

Heritage Quest –  Database of American genealogical sources with coverage dating back to the 1700s

Issues and Controversies - Articles on hot topics in politics, government, business, education and popular culture

Learning Express Library - Practice tests and tutorials for students and adults learners. Topics include AP, ASVAB, Civil Service,COMPASS, HiSET, Nursing, Reading skills and more.  On campus link or previously registered Learning Express Library account holders: www.learningexpresslibrary3.com

Literature Resource Center - Contains articles, critical essays, topic overviews, works, biography and author information.  Encompasses all genres, disciplines, time periods and world wide.

LitFinder - Includes more than 150,000 full-text poems, short stories, speeches, and plays.  Biographies, images, and secondary materials as well

Medline - Articles from medical literature from 1965 to the present

Modern World History Online - People, places, events and ideas from the mid-15th century to present

Music Online: Reference - Search four music resources (African American Music Ref, Classical Music Ref, Classical Scores Lib, and Garland Encyc. of World Music Online) at the same time

Naxos Music Library (on campus) - Access to over 400,000 classical music tracks (limit 5 simultaneous logins)

off campus users only: www.NaxosMusicLibrary.com   obtain username and password from instructor or e-mail library.

Opposing Viewpoints - Includes viewpoint articles, magazine, journal and newspaper articles, statistics, images, and website links

 OVID - Online nursing journals of Nursing, AJN, MCN: The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing, Nursing Critical Care, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and Home Health Nurse. Search and discover current full text ejournals and ebooks, as well as bibliographic information, multimedia and Open Access. This includes , peer-reviewed content from Medknow Publications and PubMed Central.

Oxford Music Online - Includes Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online and The Oxford Companion to Music

Short Stories for Students – Contains analysis, context and criticism on commonly studied short stories (some volumes available in print at ECC Library )

Scribner Writers Series - Accesses more than 2,000 scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 world wide authors from all time periods.

St. Louis Business Journal (magazine) - online version of St. Louis Business Journal (limit of 10 simultaneous logins)

Twayne’s Authors Online - Resources of the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres

Off Campus Login

YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.

When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter:

ECC ID # followed by EC

Last Name

For example:

0123456ec

Smith

If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560