LibGuides: Databases, Articles, Images, Ebooks and more Online Resources: Literature and Foreign Language Studies

Foreign Language Learners

Pronunciator offers lessons in 80 languages, including Arabic, French, German, Russian, and Spanish. The online language learning program incorporates live teacher-led instruction, learning guides, music, film, and more. Many language lessons have sections designed for learners as young as ages 3–6. In addition, it offers an English as a Second Language curriculum. It is available from Scenic Regional Library

ALL ECC students get a FREE card to:

Scenic Regional Library

Apply at any of their branches and gain access to Pronunciator and ebooks from any internet device.

Literary Criticism in Electronic Books

A select list of some electronic online books you will find in EBSCO ebooks

Death and the Mother from Dickens to Freud by Carolyn Dever; Gillian Beer (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780521622806
Publication Date: 1998-05-14
History, Memory, and the Literary Left by John Lowney
ISBN: 9781587295089
Publication Date: 2006-10-01

Databases for Research

CORE DATABASES

Bloom's Literary Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature
EBSCO - AAS Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Focuses on journals of history and culture of mid-18 century through late 19th century. Covers a variety of topics including advertising, health, women's issues, science, history of slavery, industry and professional, religious issues, culture, the arts and more
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Resources from journals and books with worldwide coverage of humanities
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 150,000 full-text poems, short stories, speeches, and plays. Biographies, images, and secondary materials as well
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, critical essays, topic overviews, works, biography and author information. Encompasses all genres, disciplines, time periods and world wide
Read It! This link opens in a new window
Read It!™ is designed for students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. Read It! helps English Language Learners (ELLs) succeed academically and in everyday life by providing resources to help them build background knowledge on a variety of topics, conduct research and improve study skills.
Scribner Writers Series This link opens in a new window
Accesses more than 2,000 scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 world wide authors from all time periods
Short Stories for Students This link opens in a new window
Accesses more than 2,000 scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 world wide authors from all time periods

RELATED DATABASES

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences
ALL DATABASES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Choose from the entire list of databases including Academic Search, Greenfile, Masterfile, Business, Medline, Education and more
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Associates Programs Source contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content
eBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic books on a variety of topics
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Practice tests and tutorials for students and adults learners. Topics include AP, ASVAB, Civil Service,COMPASS, HiSET, Nursing, Reading skills and more. On campus link or previously registered Learning Express Library account holders: www.learningexpresslibrary3.com

Subject Guide

Lisa Farrell

Email Me

Contact:

163 Buescher Hall
East Central College
Union, MO 63084
Text: 636-333-1154
Call: 636-584-6560