Skip to main content

US Gov't 1: Nation and state course, PSC 102: Online Databases for Research

This guide will help you find resources for US Government 1 course number 1203 as a student at East Central College.

Off Campus Login

YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.

When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter:

ECC ID # followed by EC

Last Name

For example:

0123456ec

Smith

If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560

Search strategies

The Library can help you improve your searching to find your resources.

Books

  • Use keywords and link using "and", do not search by phrase.
  • Use Library of Congress subject headings.  Ask a Librarian for assistance as this is a specific language that can quickly narrow down your results.

Articles and Scholarly Journals

  • Use Boolean searching, "and" "or" "not" to narrow down your results.
  • Use subject headings to find results that are the focus of your topic, not just a keyword.

Websites

  • Google scholar for research materials

Images

  • EBSCO Images
  • Credo Images
  • Flickr - watch for copyright

Statistics

  • Can be difficult to find current information, use credible resources of .gov sites or articles

Ask Us

 

Stop by - assistance available anytime we are open

Call - 636 584-6560

Text 24/7 - 636 333-1154

E-mail - library@eastcentral.edu

Chat 24/7 - http://www.eastcentral.edu/library/get-help/

Library Directory

Databases for Research of Political Science

Government and Political Science

CORE DATABASES

CQ Researcher - Reports and analysis of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy (limit 5 simultaneous logins)

** Recommended - EBSCOhost - Academic Search Premier - Articles from 4,500 magazines and journals; full-text and scholarly options

** Recommended - EBSCOhost - Associates Programs Source Plus - Journal and book resources related to 2 year college programs and vocational studies

Issues and Controversies - Articles on hot topics in politics, government, business, education and popular culture

** Recommended - Opposing Viewpoints - Includes viewpoint articles, magazine, journal and newspaper articles, statistics, images, and website links

 

RELATED DATABASES

Credo Reference - Subject specific references including images, maps, in-depth writings, biographical writings, sound files and more

EBSCO eBooks - Over 125,000 electronic books available for viewing with an internet connection

EBSCOhost – ALL DATABASES – Choose from the entire list of databases including Academic Search, Greenfile, Masterfile, Business, Medline, Education and more

EBSCOhost - Humanities International Complete - Resources from journals and books with worldwide coverage of humanities

Gale Virtual Reference - Collection of electronic books on a variety of topics

Global Issues in Context - Global perspective of international issues from variety of media formats and sources

 

USEFUL WEBSITES

Google Scholar - indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines

Missouri State Constitution - Online version of the constitution of Missouri

Missouri State Government - Website of Missouri State Government

THOMAS - Legislative information including current and historical documents

U. S. House of Representatives - Website of the United States House of Representatives

U.S. Senate - Website of the United States Senate

White House - Website of the United State White House

White House Briefing Room – Speeches and remarks by the President of the United States

What is a Database?

Databases provide access to journals, newspapers, magazines, reference books, images, music, statistics, videos and more.  Majority of these resources are full-text.  These resources are typically more up to date than books.

Databases are credible resources available to ECC students 24/7 from any internet device.

Databases have been selected for the courses offered at ECC and for the education levels of Associate and Bachelor degree coursework.

With over 2 dozen databases to choose from, it can be confusing as to where to start.  Here are a few helpful tips:

Database search tips

 

Keyword Index

Use Boolean operators to combine keywords.

   AND - combines two or more words and the results will contain all the words

   OR - broadens the search to include either keyword in the results; great for synonyms

   NOT - narrows the search by excluding a keyword

Title Index

   Enter a title, but exclude starting "The" "An" or "A"

Author Index

   Last name, First name

 

 

 

 

 

 

Library of Congress Subject Headings Index

   The subject of the book is about  x, y, z.

   A special language used in library catalogs and research databases, it can narrow the results better than keyword

   Review the abstract or summary of the article for "Subject Terms"  These are clickable and will generate a new search with the focus of the article on THAT subject.  You can combined more than one subject in the Advanced Search Option.