LibGuides: Databases, Articles, Images, Ebooks and more Online Resources: Music Resources, Audio

Audio Options

Naxos Jazz This link opens in a new window
Access to over 100,000 jazz music tracks (limit 5 simultaneous logins)
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Access to over 400,000 classical music tracks (limit 5 simultaneous logins)

National Jukebox
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings.

Music related Electronic Books

A select list of some electronic online books you will find in EBSCO ebooks

Hip-Hop Turntablism Creativity and Collaboration by Sophy Smith
ISBN: 9781409443377
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
Exploring American Folk Music by Kip Lornell
ISBN: 9781617032646
Publication Date: 2012-04-19
9780511482014 by David Machin
ISBN: 9781848600232
Publication Date: 2010-03-25
The Berimbau by Eric A. Galm
ISBN: 9781604734058
Publication Date: 2010-02-05
How to Sing by Lilli Lehmann
ISBN: 9781849892063

Music Research

CORE DATABASES

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies covering blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression
Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Articles about music from all the world's people including overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes, a description of specific musical genres, photographs, drawings, maps, and musical examples
Music Online: Reference This link opens in a new window
Search four music resources (African American Music Ref, Classical Music Ref, Classical Scores Lib, and Garland Encyc. of World Music Online) at the same time
Naxos Jazz This link opens in a new window
Access to over 100,000 jazz music tracks (limit 5 simultaneous logins)
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Access to over 400,000 classical music tracks (limit 5 simultaneous logins)
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online and The Oxford Companion to Music

** Also try this link if Oxford Music is not allowing full access to articles 4/8/2018
Oxford Music Online - Includes Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online and The Oxford Companion to Music

RELATED DATABASES

ALL DATABASES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Choose from the entire list of databases including Academic Search, Greenfile, Masterfile, Business, Medline, Education and more
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Associates Programs Source contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Resources from journals and books with worldwide coverage of humanities
eBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic books on a variety of topics
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global perspective of international issues from variety of media formats and sources

Subject Guide

Lisa Farrell

Email Me

Contact:

163 Buescher Hall
East Central College
Union, MO 63084
Text: 636-333-1154
Call: 636-584-6560