Electronic Journals/ Resources/ Databases
General Comments
The East Central College Library’s electronic journal/resource/database collection supports undergraduates across all curricula and may compliment recreation reading and the general library collection. This collection consists scholarly journals, professional journals, opinion serials and magazines. It also includes an electronic book collection, audio music database and classical musical score database. This does not include Kindle or Nook ebooks, see their collection development policy.
Responsibility for Collection Development
All library patrons are encouraged to provide suggestions for library purchases. In addition, librarians act as liaisons and consult with faculty of each academic department for recommendations. Librarians also utilize selection tools such as review publications, bibliographies, and publisher catalogs to select material. The Director of Library Services has final responsibility for collection development.
Development Plan
The primary goal of this collection is to provide electronic journals/resources/databases to meet the educational needs of the college community as well as to supplement recreational, cultural and informational needs. The collection is intended to complement, rather than compete with print journals. In order to meet these goals, ECC Library:
• strives to provide a collection of electronic journals/resources/databases of high quality and accurate content to meet the needs of curricula and enjoyment of the intended audience.
• considers subscription costs and commitment. Making purchases of electronic journals/resources/databases that support the regular collection development policy.
• evaluates titles as a whole and not on the basis of particular article, journalist or publisher. A title will not be excluded from the collection because it presents all aspects of life honestly or because it exhibits frankness of expression.
• evaluates patron requests either through reviews or knowledge and popularity. Patron requests are given serious consideration and added to the collection as warranted and as budget allows.
• evaluates the currency and timeliness of the material.
Formats
Electronic resources that interface with live internet connection and computers are desired. Many may also include an app or e device reader or ability to download and read offline.
Influencing Factors
Purchases and buying patterns are determined in large part by:
• availability through purchasing company
• institutional subscription availability
• off site access through ezproxy
• quality of content as determined by reputable critics or review sources
• present and potential relevance to the community
• patron requests
• circulation statistics
• budget constraints
Donations
Donated electronic journals/resources are not available. Some electronic resources may become available to ECC Library through statewide purchases by MORENET. All content will be added that is provided. Examples include Heritage Quest, Learning Express Library, basic level of EBSCOhost.
Collection Maintenance
Review of the collection takes place at time of renewal, October for January renewal and May for July renewal.
Current collection is reviewed through statistics of use compared to cost. Any increase in cost is also considered before renewal.
Faculty may be consulted when electronic journals/resources in their disciplines are being considered for non-renewal.
The following criteria are considered when making the decision to renew subscription:
• circulation statistics
• budget constraints
• updated content, updated interface
•contributes to collection as a whole with a variety of voices and viewpoints
•faculty input for academic program requirements
Most current electronic journals/resources/database are on a fiscal year or calendar year renewal. A couple are on based on start of semester. Many are subscribed through consortium such as MOBIUS, MORENET or NILRC.
DVDs/Blu-Rays/Streaming
General Comments
The East Central College Library visual collection supports undergraduate study, faculty instruction and research across all curricula and recreational needs. This collection consists of nonfiction and fiction DVDs in a wide variety of general subjects for all ages.
Responsibility for Collection Development
All library patrons are encouraged to provide suggestions for library purchases. In addition, librarians act as liaisons and consult with faculty of each academic department for recommendations. Librarians also utilize selection tools such as review publications, bibliographies, and publisher catalogs to select material. The Director of Library Services has final responsibility for collection development.
Development Plan
The primary goal of this collection is to provide the resources and services necessary to meet the educational, recreational, cultural and informational needs of the library. The collection is intended to complement, rather than compete with other videos sources, by offering a different collection focus. In order to meet these goals, East Central College Library:
• strives to provide a broad range of video to meet the variety of likes and needs of all patrons.
• strives to provide a collection of high quality performances and accurate content to meet the needs and enjoyment of the video's intended audience.
• evaluates video programs as a whole and not on the basis of particular scenes or segments. A video will not be excluded from the collection because it presents all aspects of life honestly or because it exhibits frankness of expression.
• evaluates patron requests either through reviews or knowledge and popularity of the video. Patron requests are given serious consideration and added to the collection as warranted and as budget allows.
• evaluates the currency and timeliness of the material. Videos on rapidly changing or ephemeral subjects are not purchased.
• purchases multiple copies of popular titles when patron demand warrants and as budget allows.
Formats
At the present time, DVDs are being actively added to the collection. VHS tapes will not be purchased. For DVDs, only Region 1 coding will be purchased. Presently Blu-Rays may be purchased as a Blu-ray/DVD combo pack if within $3 cost of single DVD cost or a specific film is requested by a faculty member and that film is only available in the Blu-ray format. Digital copies of Blu-ray or DVDs are activated through a single library account and available for individual viewing on library devices such as iPads and Kindles. Streaming videos vendors are used for classroom curriculum focused access. Streaming titles are most often recommended by faculty and directly impact the classroom. Streaming videos may be limited to budget allowances.
The library will review and consider formats as they change. As needed, additional formats will be included in the library’s collection development plan based on demand and current technology practices.
Influencing Factors
Purchases and buying patterns are determined in large part by:
•support of the ECC educational curriculum
• quality of content as determined by reputable critics or review sources
• award winning; international, national and state level
• present and potential relevance to the community
•appropriate educational level
• demand
• price appropriateness
• budget constraints
• condition
• shelf space
Donations/Gifts
Donated materials are accepted but ECC Library reserves the right to determine whether the materials are added to the collection. Materials are evaluated by the Director of Library Services and are subject to the same rules as new purchases when deciding on their inclusion. Materials that do not meet the collection development policy will be disposed of as Director sees fit, either through discard, book sale or donation. Receipt of donation will be given upon request, general description and number of items will be included and a value is not assessed.
Collection Maintenance
Review of the collection takes place continuously. Items are evaluated for retention, withdrawal or replacement. The same guidelines apply to the existing collection as to new purchases, and materials that no longer meet the collection policy will be removed from the shelf. For example, materials that are outdated, damaged, seldom circulated, or contain inaccurate information will be removed. Faculty may be consulted when materials in their disciplines are being considered for withdrawal.
Damaged or missing materials are not automatically replaced, but are subject to a reorder review process. If the item still meets the collection development policy, the original material or a new edition will be ordered, if available.
The following criteria are considered when making the decision to retain, replace or withdraw:
• significance and relevance to current holdings
• presence of multiple copies
• award winning; international, national and state level
• availability of new works
• titles in a series
• circulation statistics
• age and physical condition
• budget constraints
• ease of replacement
• shelf space