LibGuides: AGR: Agriculture: Farm, Garden, Homestead, Animals, Forestry, Conservation: Home

Off Campus Login

YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.

When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter your MyECC credentials.

Franklin.Falcon@student.eastcentral.edu
Password

If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560

Databases for Agricultural Research

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global perspective of international issues from variety of media formats and sources
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Includes viewpoint articles, magazine, journal and newspaper articles, statistics, images, and website links
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digital streaming videos on a wide variety of subjects ** Please ask your instructor for login and password or ask the library for the login and password. Only students, faculty, and staff associated with ECC may use this resource.
Agriculture Historic Periodicals, 1789-1879 This link opens in a new window
The Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western U.S., 1800-1878 focuses on agriculture during the 19th century.

The Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern U.S. 1789-1879 collection focuses on publications about farming-related activities in the 19th century. Because most Americans still lived on farms, and because agriculture remained the country's leading industry throughout the century, literature about agricultural development -- from raising crops and keeping bees to caring for livestock and erecting farm structures -- was extremely important. These publications contain rich content, including architectural plans for farmhouses and outbuildings, advertisements for fertilizer dealers and makers of farm equipment, recipes and advice for farm women, instructions for performing one's own medical and veterinary treatments, records of the latest technological and agricultural developments, reports from agricultural fairs, and more.

How to Read Research Articles

Reading research articles can be

very overwhelming, especially if you're learning how to

do it for the very first time.

This video has helpful tips on how to read

a research article without getting overwhelmed and taking notes.

Credit: University of Minnesota Libraries

Books in the Libby App/ MOBIUS Overdrive

Climate Change-Resilient Agriculture and Agroforestry by Paula Castro and Anabela Marisa Azul
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive eBook
ISBN: 9783319750040
Integrating Landscapes by Florencia Montagnini
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive eBook
ISBN: 9783319693712
Chickens by Sue Weaver
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive eBook
ISBN: 9781935484912
Farming While Black by Leah Penniman; Karen Washington (Foreword by)
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive eBook
ISBN: 9781603587624
The Poison Squad by Deborah Blum
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive eBook
ISBN: 9780525560289
Freedom Farmers by Monica M. White and LaDonna Redman
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive eBook
ISBN: 9781469643717
The Good Food Revolution by Will Allen; Mirron Willis (Narrated by); Charles Wilson (As told to); Eric Schlosser (Foreword by)
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive Audiobook
ISBN: 9781977313522
Rancher, Farmer, Fisherman by Miriam Horn
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive Audiobook
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Backyard Homesteading All-In-One for Dummies by Todd Brock
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive eBook
ISBN: 9781119550778
Growing a Revolution by David R. Montgomery; Eric Michael Summerer (Narrated by)
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive Audiobook
ISBN: 9781541421905
Perilous Bounty by Tom Philpott
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive eBook
ISBN: 9781635573145
Healing Grounds by Liz Carlisle; Ricardo Salvador (Foreword by)
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive eBook
ISBN: 9781642832228
Defending Beef by Nicolette Hahn Niman
Call Number: Libby App/ Overdrive eBook
ISBN: 9781645020158

Videos

What is Sustainable Agriculture?

Credit: SARE Outreach

Agroforestry at a Concordia, Missouri Farm

From conventional farming to silvopasture system

Credit: Mizzou Agroforestry

How Urban Farming Saved a Dallas Community

Credit: Freethink, Bonton Farms

Websites

USDA Agricultural Research Service
"The Agricultural Research Service (ARS) is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's chief scientific in-house research agency. Our job is finding solutions to agricultural problems that affect Americans every day from field to table."
Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education - North Central
"Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) offers farmer-driven, grassroots grants and education programs. Since 1988, SARE grantees have been putting the principles of sustainable agriculture into practice on farms and ranches in every state and island protectorate."
How to Conduct Research on Your Farm or Ranch
"This 32-page Ag Innovations Series technical bulletin provides detailed instruction for crop and livestock producers, as well as educators, on how to conduct research at the farm level using practical strategies and peer-reviewed research findings. How to Conduct Research on Your Farm or Ranch also includes a comprehensive list of in-depth resources and real-life examples—from a Missouri crop and livestock farmer testing the effect of additional cover cropping on forage available to his animals to a West Virginia organic producer experimenting with an integrated trap crop and pheromone trap system for ecological management of stink bugs—in order to stimulate on-farm research ideas and provide guidance."
University of Missouri - Extension
"Through the innovations and ideals of the University of Missouri, MU Extension improves lives, businesses and communities by focusing on solving Missouri’s grand challenges around economic opportunity, educational access, and health and well-being." Provides Agricultural and environmental programs, resources, online courses, events, publications, and news.
Missouri Department of Agriculture
"The Missouri Department of Agriculture, located in Jefferson City, Mo., is dedicated to the promotion and protection of the state’s agriculture industry. With nearly 100,000 farms on more than 28 million acres of farmland, the state’s Department of Agriculture works to connect farmers with consumers. Nearly 90% of Missouri’s farms are family owned, and our family farms are committed to producing a safe and secure food supply for customers locally and globally. Additionally, more than one in every ten Missouri jobs are in agriculture and forestry."
USDA Beginning Farmers Resources
"New to farming? Want to learn how to start a farm? USDA can help and offers additional assistance to beginning farmers and ranchers. USDA considers anyone who has operated a farm or ranch for less than ten years to be a beginning farmer or rancher. USDA can help you get started or grow your operation through a variety of programs and services, from farm loans to crop insurance, and conservation programs to disaster assistance."
USDA Soil Education
College level soil education resources from the USDA
Master Gardener Program - MU Extension
Master Gardener program and resources through the University of Missouri Extension program.
Missouri Botanical Gardens Vegetable Gardening
Resources for vegetable gardening in Missouri
St. Louis Science Center - GROW Pavilion
Educational events, programing, and resources aimed towards agriculture for all ages.
Washington, MO Community Garden
Washington Community Garden's mission is to "enrich the lives of our community through sustainable urban agriculture. Washington Missouri Community Garden (WMCG) envisions people experiencing a direct and deep connection with plants, the land, and with each other. Through its reciprocal partnerships, WMCG will strive to reach gardeners and would-be gardeners of all ages to work alongside the organization and build community through urban agriculture... WMCG wants to create and maintain a beautiful garden, where people youth through adult, can learn about the importance of environmental stewardship; where people can come together to reap knowledge about gardening and the products from their intentions. In the midst of all effort, WMCG wants to provide good food to food-challenged individuals via local food pantry access point(s)."
Seed St. Louis
"Originating as an affiliate of the Missouri Botanical Garden, Gateway Greening, Inc. is dedicated to community development through neighborhood and community greening projects.
Gateway Greening currently supports over 200 community, school and youth gardens." Gateway Greening is now called Seed St. Louis.

Books in the Library

The Next Green Revolution by Raymond P. Poincelot; Jim Horne; Maura Mcdermott
Call Number: S 441 .H6 2001
ISBN: 9781560228868
Agritourism, Wine Tourism, and Craft Beer Tourism by Maria Giulia Pezzi (Editor); Alessandra Faggian (Editor); Neil Reid (Editor)
Call Number: S 565.88 .A43 2021
ISBN: 9781138614413
Backyard Farming by Adams Media
Call Number: S 441 .A326 2021
ISBN: 9781507215234
Publication Date: 2021-01-05
Principles of Modern Agriculture by Richard Renneboog (Editor)
Call Number: S 493 .P75 2019
ISBN: 9781642652635
Publication Date: 2019-02-06
Using Computer Science in Agribusiness by Jennifer Culp
Call Number: S 494.5 .D3 C857 2018
ISBN: 9781508183853
Publication Date: 2018-12-15
City Farming by Kari Spencer
Call Number: S 494.5 .U72 S64 2017
ISBN: 9781910455906
Publication Date: 2017-12-06
Growing a Permaculture Food Forest by Caleb Warnock
Call Number: S 494.5 .P47 W376 2017
ISBN: 9781945547331
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
The No-Till Organic Vegetable Farm by Daniel Mays
Call Number: S 604 .M347 2020
ISBN: 9781635861891
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Sacred Soil by Robert Tindall; Frederique Apffel-Marglin; David Shearer; Ian Baker (Foreword by)
Call Number: S 944 .T56 2017
ISBN: 9781623171186
Publication Date: 2017-07-18
Kiss the Ground by Josh Tickell; Terry Tamminen
Call Number: S 605.5 .T58 2017
ISBN: 9781501170263
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
American Hemp Farmer by Doug Fine
Call Number: SB 255 .F55 2020
ISBN: 9781603589192
Grow Your Soil! by Diane Miessler; Elaine R. Ingham (Foreword by)
Call Number: S 591 .M65 2020
ISBN: 9781635862072
Publication Date: 2020-02-18
Barnyard in Your Backyard by Gail Damerow
Call Number: SF 61 .B348 2002
ISBN: 9781580174565
Careers Working with Animals by Allison Blake (Editor)
Call Number: SF 80 .C37 2021
ISBN: 9781642657722
Pigs, Pork, and Heartland Hogs by Cynthia Clampitt
Call Number: SF 395.8 .A1 C53 2018
ISBN: 9781538110744
Poultry Science by Colin G. Scanes; George Brant; M. E. Ensminger
Call Number: SF 487 .E59 2004
ISBN: 0131133756
All New Square Foot Gardening, Second Edition by Mel Bartholomew
Call Number: SB 321 .B275 2013
ISBN: 9781591865483
Feeding Cahokia by Gayle J. Fritz
Call Number: S 444 .F75 2019
ISBN: 9780817320058
Back to the Roots by Sara Shostak
Call Number: S 494.5 .U72 S56 2021
ISBN: 9780813590141
Organic Struggle by Brian K. Obach; Robert Gottlieb; Mun S. Ho
Call Number: S 605.5 .O23 2017
ISBN: 9780262533744

Emerging Technologies Librarian (Research, Instruction, Open Ed. Resources)

Morgan Spangler

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

East Central College

Subjects: Business & Accounting, College, Communication, Current events, Dual credit, English, Faculty Support, Foreign Language, Geography, Math, Nursing - Allied Health, Online classes, Philosophy, Religion, Rolla campus, Sciences/Biology, Student Leadership/ Government/ Societies

Libby by Overdrive

Download the Libby by Overdrive app to your smartphone or tablet for instant access to free audiobooks & eBooks! Find books on your subject or topic. Besides books to help you in your classes, you can find Young Adult books, Leisure Reading books, & more on Libby. You can also access Overdive on you computer/laptop here: Overdrive eBooks and Audiobooks

Download the Libby App Tutorial

Library of Congress Classification System

Search LOCATE catalog

LOCATE Catalog This link opens in a new window
East Central College Library's Online Catalog. Find Books, DVDs, Blu-rays, Music CDs, and more.

East Central College Agriculture Program

Missouri Transfer Agriculture Programs

Mizzou
University of Missouri - Columbia - College of Agriculture, Food, & Natural Resources
Northwest Missouri State
School of Agricultural Sciences
Missouri State University
William H. Darr College of Agriculture
Southeast Missouri State University
College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics - Department of Agriculture
University of Central Missouri
College of Health Science and Technology, School of Natural Sciences - Agriculture
Truman State University
Agricultural Science Department

EBSCOhost eBooks

Future of Sustainable Agriculture in Saline Environments by Katarzyna Negacz (Editor); Pier Vellinga (Editor); Edward Barrett-Lennard (Editor); Redouane Choukr-Allah (Editor); Theo Elzenga (Editor)
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9781000401141
Intelligent Agriculture by Gonzalo Maldonado-Guzmán; Jose Arturo Garza-Reyes; Lizeth Itziguery Solano-Romo
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9781789738438
Agriculture, Food, and Food Security by Clinton Lloyd Beckford
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9781536134841
Religion and Sustainable Agriculture by Todd LeVasseur (Editor); Pramod Parajuli (Editor); Norman Wirzba (Editor); Vandana Shiva (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9780813167985
Critical Role of Animal Science Research in Food Security and Sustainability by Policy and Global Affairs; Science and Technology for Sustainability Program; Committee on Considerations for the Future of Animal Science Research; National Research Council; Division on Earth and Life Sciences; Board on Agriculture and Natural Resources
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9780309316453
Poultry Diseases by E. J. Wortley (Editor)
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9781536137002
STEAM Jobs You'll Love by Kevin Walker
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9781731615848
Emerging Technologies in Agriculture and Food Science by Karim Ennouri (Editor)
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9789811470004
Urban Agriculture and City Sustainability by S. Syngellakis (Editor); J. L. Miralles i Garcia (Editor)
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9781784663667