LibGuides: ENG 215: African American Literature: Home

Off Campus Login

YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.

When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter:

Your Name
ECC ID # followed by EC

For example:

Jill Smith
0123456ec

If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560

East Central College Library Databases

For a refresher of the research process and lots of helpful tips & tools, check out the Research Basics LibGuide

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies covering blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, critical essays, topic overviews, works, biography and author information. Encompasses all genres, disciplines, time periods and world wide
Bloom's Literary Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 150,000 full-text poems, short stories, speeches, and plays. Biographies, images, and secondary materials as well
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global perspective of international issues from variety of media formats and sources
American History Online This link opens in a new window
More than 500 years of political, military, social and cultural history; includes primary sources, videos and more
Countries, Peoples and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, (9 volumes) on the Social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe

Resources in Missouri & around the Web

African American Research Guide (Missouri)
African American Experience research guide from The State Historical Society of Missouri.
Missouri's African American History
Missouri State Archives' digital collection for African American history in the state.
Missouri History Museum in St. Louis
The Library & Research Center's guide to online research using the museum's collections.
Old Courthouse in St. Louis
Learn about the Dred Scott Case with more links to African American history in Missouri.
National Blues Museum (St. Louis)
The National Blues Museum explores the Blues and celebrates the genre as the foundation of all modern American music. The facility educates guests in an entertaining environment that includes high-impact technology-driven experiences, a state-of-the-art theater, artifact-driven exhibits, and robust public programming.
The Griot Museum of Black History & Culture
The first cultural institution in St. Louis solely dedicated to Black history and culture.
Library of Congress - African American Studies
70 guides related to various aspects of African American Studies from the Library of Congress.
SlaveVoyages Digital Intiative
A digital collaborative initiative from Rice University, Emory University, Hutchins Center for African & African American Research, Smithsonian, Berkley, and more. Explores the origins and forced relocation of enslaved Africans across the Atlantic world.
The African-American Mosaic
A Library of Congress resource guide for the study of Black History & Culture.
U.S. National Archives - Black History
Digital collections relating to Black History from the National Archives and Records Administration
National Museum of African American History & Culture (Smithsonian)
Digital Resource Guide from NMAAHC.
NAACP
Founded in 1909, the NAACP is the nation's largest and most widely recognized organization for the advancement of civil rights and social justice.

Tips for Effective Search Strategies

Searching the Library's Research Databases

Searching the Library's Catalog for Books, Movies, & Music

Emerging Technologies Librarian (Research, Instruction, Open Ed. Resources)

Morgan Spangler

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

East Central College

Subjects: Business & Accounting, College, Communication, Current events, Dual credit, English, Faculty Support, Foreign Language, Geography, Math, Nursing - Allied Health, Online classes, Philosophy, Religion, Rolla campus, Sciences/Biology, Student Leadership/ Government/ Societies

Libby by Overdrive

Download the Libby by Overdrive app to your smartphone or tablet for instant access to free audiobooks & eBooks! Find books on your subject or topic. Besides books to help you in your classes, you can find Young Adult books, Leisure Reading books, & more on Libby. You can also access Overdive on you computer/laptop here: Overdrive eBooks and Audiobooks

Download the Libby App Tutorial

Search Archway

Find books, DVDS, and more at East Central College Library