Online Resources - StL Business Journal, Bloomberg's - BUS: Business and Accounting Resources

Off Campus Login

YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.

When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter your MyECC credentials.

Franklin.Falcon@student.eastcentral.edu
Password

If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560

Search strategies

The Library can help you improve your searching to find your resources.

Books

Use keywords and link using "and", do not search by phrase.
Use Library of Congress subject headings. Ask a Librarian for assistance as this is a specific language that can quickly narrow down your results.

Articles and Scholarly Journals

Use Boolean searching, "and" "or" "not" to narrow down your results.
Use subject headings to find results that are the focus of your topic, not just a keyword.

Websites

Google scholar for research materials

Images

EBSCO Images
Credo Images
Flickr - watch for copyright

Statistics

Can be difficult to find current information, use credible resources of .gov sites or articles

Ask Us

Stop by - assistance available anytime we are open

Call - 636-584-6560

Text 24/7 - 636 333-1154

E-mail - library@eastcentral.edu

Chat 24/7 - https://www.eastcentral.edu/library/get-help/

Library Directory

Business Research

CORE DATABASES

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
The industry's most widely used business research database, this collection features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Includes information about presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, the retail industry, business planning, and political participation
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global perspective of international issues from variety of media formats and sources
St. Louis Business Journal This link opens in a new window
Online version of St. Louis Business Journal (limit of 10 simultaneous logins) **Contact your instructor or ECC Library for off campus login and password.

RELATED DATABASES

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Associates Programs Source contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content
eBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic books on a variety of topics
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Articles on hot topics in politics, government, business, education and popular culture
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Includes viewpoint articles, magazine, journal and newspaper articles, statistics, images, and website links

Online Journals related to Business and Accounting

St. Louis Business Journal (magazine) - Online version of St. Louis Business Journal (limit of 10 simultaneous logins) **Contact your instructor or ECC Library for off campus login and password.

Bloomberg Businessweek (magazine) - online version of Bloomberg Businessweek available through EBSCOhost.

Advertising Age (magazine) - online version of Advertising Age available through EBSCOhost.

P C Magazine (magazine) - online version of PC Magazine available through EBSCOhost.

Database search tips

Keyword Index

Use Boolean operaters to combine keywords.

AND - combines two or more words and the results will contain all the words

OR - broadens the search to include either keyword in the results; great for synonyms

NOT - narrows the search by excluding a keyword

Title Index

Enter a title, but exclude starting "The" "An" or "A"

Author Index

Last name, First name

Library of Congress Subject Headings Index

The subject of the book is about x, y, z.

A special language used in library catalogs and research databases, it can narrow the results better than keyword

Review the abstract or summary of the article for "Subject Terms" These are clickable and will generate a new search with the focus of the article on THAT subject. You can combined more than one subject in the Advanced Search Option.

BUS: Business and Accounting Resources: Online Resources - StL Business Journal, Bloomberg's