LibGuides: NUR: Nursing: Home

Off Campus Login

YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.

When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter:

Your Name
ECC ID # followed by EC

For example:

Jill Smith
0123456ec

If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560

Nursing Podcasts

Johns Hopkins Nursing Podcasts: Multiple podcast series from Johns Hopkins Nursing magazine.

Recommended Books

Mosby's 2021 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-Roth
Call Number: RM 301.12 .S55 2021
ISBN: 9780323757331
Publication Date: 2020-03-26
Professional Nursing by Beth Black
Call Number: RT 82 .P755 2020
ISBN: 9780323551137
Publication Date: 2019-09-04
Lippincott Visual Nursing
Call Number: eBooks on EBSCOhost
ISBN: 9781496381798
Overcoming Secondary Stress in Medical and Nursing Practice
Call Number: Overdrive eBook / Libby by Overdrive app
ISBN: 9780197547250

Libby by Overdrive

Download the Libby by Overdrive app to your smartphone or tablet for instant access to free audiobooks & eBooks! Find books on your subject or topic. Besides books to help you in your classes, you can find Young Adult books, Leisure Reading books, & more on Libby. You can also access Overdive on you computer/laptop here: Overdrive eBooks and Audiobooks

Download the Libby App Tutorial

How to Read Research Articles

Reading research articles can be

very overwhelming, especially if you're learning how to

do it for the very first time.

This video has helpful tips on how to read

a research article without getting overwhelmed and taking notes.

Credit: University of Minnesota Libraries

Research Databases & Other Resources for Nursing

ECC Library Research Databases require off campus login.

See the instructions at the top of this LibGuide.

OVID This link opens in a new window
Online nursing journals of Nursing, AJN, Nursing Critical Care, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, MCN, and Home Health Nurse. Search and discover current full text ejournals and ebooks, as well as bibliographic information, multimedia and Open Access. This includes , peer-reviewed content from Medknow Publications and PubMed Central.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937

Search Strategies for CINAHL and Medline

Medline This link opens in a new window
Articles from medical literature from 1965 to the present
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Articles and book chapters of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles

PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites (PubMed).
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
NIH is the nation's medical research agency, supporting scientific studies that turn discovery into health (NIH).
World Health Organization
Founded in 1948, WHO is the United Nations agency that connects nations, partners and people to promote health, keep the world safe and serve the vulnerable – so everyone, everywhere can attain the highest level of health (WHO).
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
CDC works 24/7 keeping America safe from health, safety, and security threats, both foreign and domestic. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease, and supports communities and citizens to do the same (CDC).

Video Tutorials for Research

Credit: Sarah Clark

Credit: University of Minnesota Libraries

Credit: University of South Australia

Tips for Effective Search Strategies

APA & Citing Sources

The ECC Learning Center
Tutoring assistance.
ECC Online Writing Center
Assistance with writing assignments, editing, and citations.
American Psychological Association (APA)
Official APA style website with lots of examples
APA Paper Format
Official APA website. Shows you how to set up your paper in APA style.
APA In-Text Citations
Official APA website. Shows you how to make in-text citations in the APA style.
APA References
Official APA website. Shows you how to set-up your references page.
OWL Purdue - APA
From Purdue University: OWL Purdue APA resource.
Student Paper Checklist - APA 7th Edition
Use this online checklist from the official APA website to make sure you don't miss anything!

Try this online APA Quiz to test your APA knowledge

Emerging Technologies Librarian (Research, Instruction, Open Ed. Resources)

Morgan Spangler

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

East Central College

Subjects: Business & Accounting, College, Communication, Current events, Dual credit, English, Faculty Support, Foreign Language, Geography, Math, Nursing - Allied Health, Online classes, Philosophy, Religion, Rolla campus, Sciences/Biology, Student Leadership/ Government/ Societies

Get Help!

Visit us at the Library!

Chat, text, or call us!

Research Basics

For help with beginning the research process for a project or paper, click on THIS LINK to take you to our Research Basics LibGuide that will walk you through the research process!

What if You Became a Nurse?

Credit: Sana Goldberg, TEDx Talks, TEDxHarvardCollege