LibGuides: REL 212: Old Testament: Home

Hebrew Bible Overview and ECC Library Databases

Off Campus Log In Required for Databases

First Name, Last Name

ECC ID # w/ EC

ex: Franklin Falcon

012345EC

Bloom's Literary Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, critical essays, topic overviews, works, biography and author information. Encompasses all genres, disciplines, time periods and world wide
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 150,000 full-text poems, short stories, speeches, and plays. Biographies, images, and secondary materials as well
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles

Books

The Complete Dead Sea Scrolls in English

ECC Library Physical Book

Call Number: BM 487 .A3 2011

The Jewish Study Bible

ECC Library Physical Book - Library Use Only

Call Number: BS 895 .J4 2014

Literary Motifs and Patterns in the Hebrew Bible

EBSCOhost eBook

Off Campus Log In Required

The Essential Talmud

ECC Library Physical Book

Call Number: BM 503.5 .S79913 1976 b

The Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible

ECC Library Physical Book - Library Use Only

Call Number: BS 425 .S8 1973

Web Resources

The Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
The Israel Museum hosts the Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project, allowing users to examine and explore these ancient manuscripts from Second Temple period at a level of detail never before possible.
Biblehub.com
Free online Bible concordance. Allows for English, Greek, Hebrew translations side by side.
Stepbible.org
Free online concordance with an easy to use interface. Good for word studies. Provides verses listed in Greek, Hebrew, Aramaic, and English.
YouVersion Bible App
YouVersion's Bible app can be downloaded for free to a smartphone or tablet. Gives access to many translations of the Bible.
ormeus Bible Browser
Free Bible reference database. Allows you to look up passages, words, or phrases in multiple Bible versions.
Netbible.org
Free Bible study tool that gives insight into the original Hebrew and Greek.
BibleGateway
Free Bible browser that allows you to look up passages, words, topics, themes, etc.

TaNaK/ Hebrew Bible/ Old Testament Overview

General overview of the literary design and main idea of the literature in each section of the Hebrew Bible/ Old Testament.

Credit: Bible Project

General overview of the three main literary styles used in the Bible.

Credit: Bible Project

Research Basics

For help with beginning the research process for a project or paper, click on THIS LINK to take you to our Research Basics LibGuide that will walk you through the research process!

Emerging Technologies Librarian (Research, Instruction, Open Ed. Resources)

Morgan Spangler

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

East Central College

Subjects: Business & Accounting, College, Communication, Current events, Dual credit, English, Faculty Support, Foreign Language, Geography, Math, Nursing - Allied Health, Online classes, Philosophy, Religion, Rolla campus, Sciences/Biology, Student Leadership/ Government/ Societies

Libby by Overdrive

Download the Libby by Overdrive app to your smartphone or tablet for instant access to free audiobooks & eBooks! Find books on your subject or topic. Besides books to help you in your classes, you can find Young Adult books, Leisure Reading books, & more on Libby. You can also access Overdive on you computer/laptop here: Overdrive eBooks and Audiobooks

Search Archway

Find books, DVDS, and more at East Central College Library

REL 212: Old Testament: Home