LibGuides: EDU: Education Studies and Majors: Databases and Online Research

What is a Database?

Databases provide access to journals, newspapers, magazines, reference books, images, music, statistics, videos and more. Majority of these resources are full-text. These resources are typically more up to date than books.

Databases are credible resources available to ECC students 24/7 from any internet device.

Databases have been selected for the courses offered at ECC and for the education levels of Associate and Bachelor degree coursework.

With over 2 dozen databases to choose from, it can be confusing as to where to start. Here are a few helpful tips:

Alphabetical list if you know the title of the database
Subject of research to narrow down your search to 5 options
Search Core Databases before Related Databases on your Subject
**see below**
Ask library staff for suggestions
Start at EBSCOhost Databases or Credo Reference for general research topics

Database for Education Research

CORE DATABASES

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators
ALL DATABASES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Choose from the entire list of databases including Academic Search, Greenfile, Masterfile, Business, Medline, Education and more
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Associates Programs Source contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content
Education Professionals PreK - Graduate This link opens in a new window
Variety of resources related to elementary, secondary and graduate students and instructors
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center – Abstracts and some full-text of documents and journal articles on education research and practice from 1976 to the present
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Resources from journals and books with worldwide coverage of humanities
Read It! This link opens in a new window
Read It!™ is designed for students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects. Read It! helps English Language Learners (ELLs) succeed academically and in everyday life by providing resources to help them build background knowledge on a variety of topics, conduct research and improve study skills.

RELATED DATABASES

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences
EBSCO - AAS Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Focuses on journals of history and culture of mid-18 century through late 19th century. Covers a variety of topics including advertising, health, women's issues, science, history of slavery, industry and professional, religious issues, culture, the arts and more
eBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic books on a variety of topics
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Practice tests and tutorials for students and adults learners. Topics include AP, ASVAB, Civil Service,COMPASS, HiSET, Nursing, Reading skills and more. On campus link or previously registered Learning Express Library account holders: www.learningexpresslibrary3.com