LibGuides: GRY: Geography: Research Databases &amp; Other Sources

Off Campus Login

YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.

When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter your MyECC credentials.

Franklin.Falcon@student.eastcentral.edu
Password

If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560

Accessing EBSCO from Home

Research Basics

For help with beginning the research process for a project or paper, click on THIS LINK to take you to our Research Basics LibGuide that will walk you through the research process!

Databases, Websites, & Other Resources

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global perspective of international issues from variety of media formats and sources
Countries, Peoples and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, (9 volumes) on the Social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Includes viewpoint articles, magazine, journal and newspaper articles, statistics, images, and website links
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Articles on hot topics in politics, government, business, education and popular culture
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles

QGIS Project
Free, open source GIS software
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
BBC News Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
What is GIS? (esri)
esri is the leading GIS software. Learn about GIS.
USGS - Topographic Maps
Find topographic maps
Google Earth
Digital Globe
Applied Ocean Science - Projects
"Basic and Applied Research
Our research ranges from basic principles and cutting edge theory, to implementation and impactful applications."
American Geographical Society
The American Geographical Society (AGS) is a 21st-century learning society dedicated to the advancement of geographic thinking, knowledge, and understanding across business, government, academe, social sectors, and most importantly with teachers and students. Established in 1851, AGS is the oldest professional geographical organization in the United States. It is recognized worldwide as a pioneer in geographical research and education for over 170 years. The mission of AGS is to advance and promote geography in business, government, science, and education.
American Association of Geographers
The American Association of Geographers (AAG) is a nonprofit scientific and educational society founded in 1904. For more than 100 years the AAG has contributed to the advancement of geography. Its members from nearly 100 countries share interests in the theory, methods, and practice of geography, which they cultivate through the AAG's Annual Meeting, scholarly journals (Annals of the American Association of Geographers, The Professional Geographer, the AAG Review of Books and GeoHumanities), and the online AAG Newsletter.

eMissourian
Online version of the newspaper based in Washington, Missouri. Also, available in print at the ECC Library.
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Online version of the St. Louis Newspaper

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digital streaming videos on a wide variety of subjects

The Blue Planet: Seas of Life by BCC/Discovery Channel
Call Number: GC 11.2 .B58 2002
ISBN: 9780790766034
Human Footprint by National Geographic
Call Number: GF 503 .H86 2008
ISBN: 9781426293146