LibGuides: ENG 216: Latine Literature: Home

LOC Classification

ECC Library uses the Library of Congress (LOC) Classification System to organize our book and resources using "call numbers."

LOC classification system uses letters A-Z and numbers to organize subjects in alphabetical and numerical order.

Call number example for The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho: PQ 9698.13 O3546 A4513 1993

*NOTE: Latine Literature will not include all Spanish-speaking countries e.g. Spain. It will include countries where the main language is not Spanish e.g. Brazil. Latine/Latinx/Latino/Latina are geographical terms that refer to Latin American countries and peoples (and their descendants).

Please do not hesitate to ask a librarian for help finding books and resources.

Libby by Overdrive

Download the Libby by Overdrive app to your smartphone or tablet for instant access to free audiobooks & eBooks! Find books on your subject or topic. Besides books to help you in your classes, you can find Young Adult books, Leisure Reading books, & more on Libby. You can also access Overdive on you computer/laptop here: Overdrive eBooks and Audiobooks

Download the Libby App Tutorial

What's the Difference?

Credit: BBC News

Research & Resources

*NOTE: "Latine" is a newer, gender-neutral term that may not return many results when conducting keyword searches. Terms such as "Latino", "Latina", and "Latinx" will provide greater results when conducting keyword searches.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, critical essays, topic overviews, works, biography and author information. Encompasses all genres, disciplines, time periods and world wide
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 150,000 full-text poems, short stories, speeches, and plays. Biographies, images, and secondary materials as well
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Bloom's Literary Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature
Countries, Peoples and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, (9 volumes) on the Social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe

Latinx Studies: Library of Congress Resources
guide provides curated Library of Congress resources for researching LatinX Studies, including digitized primary source materials in a wide variety of formats, books and periodicals, online databases, and research strategies.
Latinx Research Strategies: Library of Congress Resources
The Library holds a variety of materials on Latinx communities, culture, and history in the United States, all of which can be located through the Library of Congress Online Catalog or the Library of Congress Digital Collections.
Latinx Digital Collections: Library of Congress Resources
Digital Collections of the LOC using search terms "Hispanic Americans" OR "Latinos"
Latinx Literature of the Americas Links
List of links from the University of Illinois-Chicago
Handbook of Latin American Studies (LOC)
Contains scholarly assessments of publications related to Latin America, from the 1930s to the present, including books, articles, maps, e-resources, and more.
History of Science in Latin America and the Caribbean
Welcome to HOSLAC, a comprehensive database of primary sources on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean. The site, launched in January 2010, provides a virtual archive of over 200 primary sources along with introductions based on the latest scholarly findings. We hope the database will be useful for teaching, research, or general interest purposes for viewers curious about the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean.