Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black Film Festival: Websites and Museums

Film festival for month of Feburary for ECC student, faculty and staff.

Websites and Organizations

African American History Month Government resources (Library of Congress, Nat'l Endowment for the Arts, Nat'l Gallery of Art, et al.) pay tribute to African Americans.

African American Mosaic A Library of Congress resource guide for the study of Black History & Culture.

Association for the Study of African American Life and History Established in 1915 by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, ASALH creates and disseminates information about Black History for the global public.

Behind the Veil A selection of 100 recorded oral history interviews from Duke University documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South, 1890s to the 1950s.

The Black Archives of Mid-America serves to collect and preserve the history of African Americans in the Midwest. Our collections, educational programs, research services and special projects facilitate both scholarly inquiry and public understanding of African American history.

Black History Collection Fold3 presents military records of African Americans in the US from pre-Civil War to the Vietnam War.  Free access for the month of February. 

Hutchins Center for African and African American Research supports research on the history and culture of people of African descent the world over and provides a forum for collaboration and the ongoing exchange of ideas.

In Motion: African American Migration Experience is presented by Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

King Institute Illuminates the life and the movements Dr. King inspired.

The May Anti-Slavery Collection extensive collection of slavery and abolitionist materials at the Cornell Library.

NAACP The nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization.

National Park Service A suggest visits in Dr. King's Footsteps.

National Urban League A historic civil rights organization dedicated to economic empowerment.

Negro League Baseball A detailed source about the segregated game.

National Underground Railroad Freedom Center A Smithsonian Institution affiliate and educational resource for American and African American history.

Museums

St. Louis :

Griot Museum of Black History is located in St. Louis, Missouri. The Griot uses life-size wax figures, other art, artifacts, and memorabilia to interpret the stories of African Americans with a regional connection who have contributed to our country’s development.  We remain closed until further notice while we work diligently to develop plans and make preparation for reopening soon.  We want to ensure that we have in place the best possible measures to keep you and our staff safe during your visit.

St. Louis Art Museum continues its commitment to engage, include, and represent the full diversity of the St. Louis community through its exhibitions, programming, and events. Visit the Museum or search online to discover more than 300 works by artists of African descent in the Museum’s collection. Learn more about special events and exhibitions that focus on African and African American history and culture.

 

Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History Provides learning opportunities, exhibitions, programs and events based on collections and research that explore the diverse history and culture of African Americans and their African origins in Detroit, Michigan.

DuSable Museum of African American History of Chicago, Illinois exhibits African American history, culture and art.

National Museum of African Art in Washington D.C. hosts a variety of exhibits of African art.

National Museum of African American History and Culture Construction of the NMAAHC will begin in 2012 and will be completed in 2015 in Washington D.C.

Lucy Craft Laney Museum of Black History Promotes the legacy of educator Ms. Lucy Craft Laney through art and history, it is located in Augusta, Georgia.

Wikipedia contributors. "Romare Bearden." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 14 Jan. 2014. Web. 21 Jan. 2014.