HST 101,102,103: U.S. History Courses: Databases for Research

Stop by - assistance available anytime we are open

Call - 636-584-6560

Text 24/7 - 636 333-1154

E-mail - library@eastcentral.edu

Chat 24/7 - https://www.eastcentral.edu/library/get-help/

Library Directory

YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.

When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter:

Your Name
ECC ID # followed by EC

For example:

Jill Smith
0123456ec

If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560

The Library can help you improve your searching to find your resources.

Books

• Use keywords and link using "and", do not search by phrase.
• Use Library of Congress subject headings.  Ask a Librarian for assistance as this is a specific language that can quickly narrow down your results.

Articles and Scholarly Journals

• Use Boolean searching, "and" "or" "not" to narrow down your results.
• Use subject headings to find results that are the focus of your topic, not just a keyword.

Websites

• Google scholar for research materials

Images

• EBSCO Images
• Flickr - watch for copyright

Statistics

• Can be difficult to find current information, use credible resources of .gov sites or articles

Databases provide access to journals, newspapers, magazines, reference books, images, music, statistics, videos and more.  Majority of these resources are full-text.  These resources are typically more up to date than books.

Databases are credible resources available to ECC students 24/7 from any internet device.

Databases have been selected for the courses we offer at ECC and for the education levels of Associate and Bachelor degree coursework.

With over 2 dozen databases to choose from it can be confusing as to where to start. 

• Narrow down the databases by subject of research
• Search Core Databases before Related Databases
• Ask library staff for suggestions
• Start at EBSCOhost Databases for General Research

CORE DATABASES

RELATED DATABASES

Keyword Index

Use Boolean operaters to combine keywords.

   AND - combines two or more words and the results will contain all the words

   OR - broadens the search to include either keyword in the results; great for synonyms

   NOT - narrows the search by excluding a keyword

Title Index

   Enter a title, but exclude starting "The" "An" or "A"

Author Index

   Last name, First name

Library of Congress Subject Headings Index

   The subject of the book is about  x, y, z.

   A special language used in library catalogs and research databases, it can narrow the results better than keyword

   Review the abstract or summary of the article for "Subject Terms"  These are clickable and will generate a new search with the focus of the article on THAT subject.  You can combined more than one subject in the Advanced Search Option.