LibGuides: EDU 213: Literature for Children: Journals and databases

Online Journals for Children's Literature

Horn Book Magazine
Subjects: Children's Literature
Description: Includes reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world.
Children's Literature in Education
Subjects: Education (General); Children's Literature
Description: Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.
Book Links
Subjects: Library & Information Science; Children's Literature
Description: A magazine designed for teachers, librarians, booksellers, parents and other interested adults in connecting children with books. Focuses on articles that target those people that educate children from preschool through eighth grade.
Spider
Subjects: Poetry; Children's Literature
Description: Short stories, poems, activities and games for children between the ages of six and nine.
Ladybug
Subjects: Poetry; Children's Literature
Description: Stories, poems, songs, games and adventures for children ages two to six; a separate activity insert of things to do and a parent's guide.
Click
Subjects: Children's Interest; Technology (General); Children's Literature; Science (General)
Description: Children's magazine of science and exploration; it helps little ones understand the world around them.
Stone Soup
Subjects: Children's Interest; Children's Literature
Description: Stories, poems, book reviews and art by young people ages 8 to 13.

Databases for Education Research

CORE DATABASES

ALL DATABASES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Choose from the entire list of databases including Academic Search, Greenfile, Masterfile, Business, Medline, Education and more
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, critical essays, topic overviews, works, biography and author information. Encompasses all genres, disciplines, time periods and world wide
Associates Programs Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Associates Programs Source contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content
Education Professionals PreK - Graduate This link opens in a new window
Variety of resources related to elementary, secondary and graduate students and instructors
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Resources from journals and books with worldwide coverage of humanities
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators

RELATED DATABASES

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences
eBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic books on a variety of topics
LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Practice tests and tutorials for students and adults learners. Topics include AP, ASVAB, Civil Service,COMPASS, HiSET, Nursing, Reading skills and more. On campus link or previously registered Learning Express Library account holders: www.learningexpresslibrary3.com

Lexiles

Additional Sources of Research

Accelerated reading program
Articles in EBSCO about
AR bookfinder
Renaissance (AR company)
Lexile Framework
LEXILE Framework for Reading (Trademark)
EBSCO articles about
ERIC
Educational Resources Information Center
National Center for Education Statistic
Department of Education's major statistical agency

Off Campus Login

YES! You can access all of ECC Library's databases from home.

When you select a specific database (through the Library website) it will prompt you to enter:

Your Name
ECC ID # followed by EC

For example:

Jill Smith
0123456ec

If you need assistance please call 636 584-6560