Sources of OER Textbooks& Materials - FAC: Affordable and Open Educational Resources (A&OER) - Faculty

Open Textbook Collections

The Open Textbook movement focuses on the creation of books that are built specifically for use as free or low-cost options for education.

Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library is the Open Textbook Network's catalog of OER textbooks, including faculty reviews. ECC is a member, through MOBIUS.
List of Open Textbook networks, Community College Consortium for OER
Subject-Specific list, Community College Consortium for OER
OpenStax Home Page
OpenStax CNX
View and share free educational material in small modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports or other academic assignments.
more...less...
Books are available in multiple formats (PDF, print on demand, on the Web) and are licensed to be revised and remixed by faculty who want create a custom solution for a course. There are tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
A clearinghouse of links to books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks.
more...less...
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Intech
Lumen OER Course Catalog
Access digital content and supplemental materials with ease; complete customizable courses in more than 60 subjects...read link below: Lumen: What We Offer.
Lumen: What We Offer (Tools)
Describes Candelea (Extremely affordable e-books with curated text, video, interactives, and other learning materials), Waymaker and OHM. Browse Lumen's Course Catalog above.
Lyryx Learning
Lyryx provides open educational resources (OER) and services to complement your course instruction in the subjects of: Mathematics, Statistics, Accounting and Economics.
OER Commons
Open Access Publishing in European Networks
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN has books in multiple languages and covering a large variety of topics. There is a range of licensing for the books; each book is clearly marked with the license.
OpenEd, BC Campus
OpenEd - Find Open Textbooks written specifically for the BC OpenTextbook initiative, as well as books from other sources.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Open SUNY Textbooks is a one service of SUNY OER Services, a SUNY service that provides mentoring, technical support, and access to a broad catalog of open textbooks to help incorporate OER into the classroom, lower the cost of higher education, and empower faculty.
more...less...
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative published high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
Project Gutenberg, Free ebooks
A volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most items in this collection are digitized works from the public domain, making it a rich source for those in the Humanities
IntechOpen, Open Access Science Books
IntechOpen is a leading publisher of Open Access science books; built by scientists, for scientists. View 3,800 peer-reviewed Open Access books
more...less...
More info at: https://www.intechopen.com
Submit your work to IntechOpen. We’re endorsed by Web Of Science, the world’s leading citation index. The authors who publish with us range from globally-renowned Nobel Prize winners to up-and-coming researchers at the cutting edge of scientific discovery. We’d love for you to be one of them.
Saylor Academy's list of free, online, self-paced courses.
Saylor Academy's list of free, online, self-paced courses.
more...less...
Saylor.org is sponsored by the Saylor Foundation, a non-profit organization focused on bringing "freely available education to all." See: Saylor.org
Recommended for Art History, Business, Engineering, History, Political Science and Psychology subject areas.

OER Collections

These may include textbooks, but include other open educational resources such as tutorials, videos, lesson plans, and assignments.

Find OER, Open Professional Education Network (OPEN)
(https://open4us.org/find-oer/) - This page is a great place to get started. It links to and describes some of the best places to find individual media elements such as photos, graphics, videos, and audio, that are openly licensed in a way that freely permits education use.
MERLOT (https://www.merlot.org/)
A free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community.
Recommended for Business, Education, Music, Political Science and Sociology subject areas.
more...less...
MERLOT does not house content, but is a collection of links to other content. The materials can be ranked and many are peer-reviewed. There are discipline specific Communities that curate and review the content.
OER Commons, Creative Commons search portal
Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Connexions. a public digital library of open educational resources.
OPENUMB, at UMass Boston
OpenWashington ((http://www.openwa.org)
Designed to help faculty understand the OER movement and find OER. They have links for finding textbooks, content, images and video, as well as stories from faculty who have adopted OER in their classrooms.
The Orange Grove, Florida's Open Educational Resource Repository
Organized by Open Collections; Higher Education Resources; K-12 Resources and Institution Collections
Europena Collections
A gateway to European cultural assets; search for artworks, cultural items, archival collections from participating institutions all around Europe. To find an item with the Creative Commons licensing you prefer -
1. Once you type in your initial search on the main page, you will have a list of filters on the left hand side of the page. Or use Browse option on main search to filter before you search.
2. Use the "Can I use it?" and "By Copyright" filters to narrow down your results.
more...less...
Once you have selected the items you want you will be redirected to the website of the institution that owns the item, and these sites may not have English translations.

Find OER: List of General OER Collections

Portals and Hubs for Finding OER

OER Commons
"OER Commons is a dynamic digital content hub, offering a suite of OER implementation supports."

MERLOT II

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. It is a product of the California State University System partnering with education institutions, professional societies, and industry.

Open Educational Resources: Resource Roundup, from Edutopia This link opens in a new window
Updated posting, a great guide to resources for getting started, organized with many links!

iLumina
A digital library of sharable undergraduate teaching materials for chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics, and computer science. Created by the National Science Digital Library, iLumina is designed to quickly and accurately connect users with the educational resources they need. These resources range in type from highly granular objects such as individual images and video clips to entire courses.

Discipline-Specific Sources, Introduction to OER - openstax cnx
Page identifying different OERs, mostly instructional units or objects, within Rice University's openstax course on OER.

More Portals and Hubs for Finding OER

"Find OER" - Open Professionals Education Network
Includes many formats, including video, audio, image, and text resources.
Academic Earth
Portal to open course materials and video lectures from many prominent colleges and universities.
American Memory Collection at the Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. This digital record of American history and creativity, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
BioInteractive (Howard Hughes Medical Institute)
Contains award-winning multimedia resources, including apps, animations, videos, interactives, and virtual labs, focused on brining the excitement of scientific discovery into the classroom. They can be used in a flipped, blended, or traditional classroom.

more...
Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning (University of Texas at Austin)
COERLL's mission is to produce and disseminate OER such as online language courses, reference grammars, assessment tools, corpora, etc. Site currently has OER for 17 languages including Arabic, English, Chinese, French, German, and Spanish.
Chem Collective (Carnegie Mellon University)
The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams. Students can review and learn chemistry concepts using our virtual labs, simulations, and tutorials.
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
Primarily first- and second-year college/university resources.

more...
Concord Consortium - Higher Education OER
The Concord Consortium focuses on discovering, developing and disseminating innovative technology for a new generation of STEM-literate learners, workers and citizens. Site includes interactive simulations, cutting-edge sensors, innovative assessments and technology-based curricula.

more...
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
The Encyclopedia of Life brings together information about all life on Earth—one web page for each specie(>1.9 million species pages). Included are text, images, video, sounds, maps, classifications, etc., all freely available online.

more...
Go Cognitive (Cognitive Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience)
Provides a video archive of interviews with over 20 leading researchers in the field, along with a set of demonstrations. All videos and demonstrations are freely accessible. By signing up (no cost, just provide e-mail) a user can get access to members-only materials that may be helpful as well.
Khan Academy
Well-known source of high quality, freely accessbile practice exercises and instructional videos. Subject coverage includes math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings....

more...
Open Education Consortium
"The Open Education Consortium is a worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education and its impact on global education. We envision a world where everyone, everywhere has access to the education they need to build their futures."
TED-Ed
TED-Ed is TED’s youth and education initiative. TED-Ed’s mission is to spark and celebrate the ideas of teachers and students around the world. TED-Ed Originals are short animated videos about ideas that spark the curiosity of learners. These original animated videos, paired with questions and resources, make up what are called TED-Ed Lessons.

more...
WebWork (Mathematical Association of America and the National Science Foundation)
WeBWorK is an open-source online homework system for math and science courses. WeBWorK is supported by the MAA and the NSF and comes with a National Problem Library (NPL) of over 20,000 homework problems. Problems in the NPL target most lower division undergraduate math courses and some advanced courses. Supported courses include college algebra, discrete mathematics, probability and statistics, single and multivariable calculus, differential equations, linear algebra and complex analysis. WebWork is open source and able to be set up for free on an institution's server, or can be hosted by MAA for a small fee

Videos & Learning Objects

BC Campus Open Education Project
BC Campus is supported by the British Columbia Ministry of Advanced Education. The Open Education Project provides and advocates for free, open textbooks.
GFC Learn Free
Brief, easy tutorials on the basics of various topics ranging from computer applications to "how-to"s for everyday life.
Google Search Education
Google supplies lesson plans, trivia search challenges, brief videos and PowerPoint presentations and "power search" courses.
HippoCampus
Multimedia content for middle school through college level courses. Emphasis is on STEM subjects and college readiness.
Study.com
Short, free videos with quizzes organized into "courses" for popular college-level topics.
Teaching Commons
Portal to open education resources from colleges and universities.
Visionlearning
National Science Foundation; includes a library of STEM (science, technology, engineering, math) subject learning modules that can be used by teachers and students with free registration. Can be used without registration as a science reference site. Includes graphic animations to illustrate concepts.
Wisc-Online
Learning objects that can be used individually or combined in clusters. Includes a game-maker and educational games.

FAC: Affordable and Open Educational Resources (A&OER) - Faculty: Sources of OER Textbooks
& Materials

Mason OER Metafinder - Search Tool

Open Textbook Collections

OER Collections

Find OER: List of General OER Collections

Portals and Hubs for Finding OER

More Portals and Hubs for Finding OER

Videos & Learning Objects

FAC: Affordable and Open Educational Resources (A&OER) - Faculty: Sources of OER Textbooks& Materials

Mason OER Metafinder - Search Tool

Open Textbook Collections

OER Collections

Find OER: List of General OER Collections

Portals and Hubs for Finding OER

​More Portals and Hubs for Finding OER

Videos & Learning Objects

FAC: Affordable and Open Educational Resources (A&OER) - Faculty: Sources of OER Textbooks
& Materials

More Portals and Hubs for Finding OER