Foreign Language Material
General Comments
The East Central College Library will purchase materials in English. Other language materials, including ASL, will be purchased that support the curriculum requirements and cultural needs of the institution.
Responsibility for Collection Development
All library patrons are encouraged to provide suggestions for library purchases. In addition, librarians act as liaisons and consult with faculty of each academic department for recommendations. Librarians also utilize selection tools such as review publications, bibliographies, and publisher catalogs to select material. The Director of Library Services has final responsibility for collection development.
Development Plan
The primary goal of this collection is to provide the resources and services necessary to meet the educational, recreational, cultural and informational needs of the library. In order to meet these goals, ECC Library:
• strives to provide foreign language materials to meet the variety of likes and needs of patrons.
• strives to provide a collection of foreign language films of high quality performances and accurate content to meet the needs and enjoyment of the video's intended audience.
• evaluates foreign language resources as a whole and not on the basis of particular scenes or segments. A material will not be excluded from the collection because it presents all aspects of life honestly or because it exhibits frankness of expression.
• evaluates patron requests either through reviews or knowledge. Patron requests are given serious consideration and added to the collection as warranted and as budget allows.
• evaluates the currency and timeliness of the material. Resources on rapidly changing or ephemeral subjects are not purchased.
Formats
At the present time a variety of formats are collected, included video, electronic, print, and audio. Videos, including documentaries and feature films, are purchased in foreign languages. Electronic materials often have a translate option available. Print and audio materials will be purchased that support the foreign language curriculum and cultural needs of the institution. Children’s foreign language materials will be purchased as needed for teacher education curriculum and cultural necessity.
The library will review and consider formats as they change. As needed, additional formats will be included in the library’s collection development plan based on demand and current technology practices.
Influencing Factors
Purchases and buying patterns are determined in large part by:
•support of the ECC educational curriculum
• quality of content as determined by reputable critics or review sources
• award winning; international, national and state level
• present and potential relevance to the community
•appropriate educational level
• demand
• price appropriateness
• budget constraints
• condition
• shelf space
Donations/Gifts
Donated materials are accepted but ECC Library reserves the right to determine whether the materials are added to the collection. Materials are evaluated by the Director of Library Services and are subject to the same rules as new purchases when deciding on their inclusion. Materials that do not meet the collection development policy will be disposed of as Director sees fit, either through discard, book sale or donation. Receipt of donation will be given upon request, general description and number of items will be included and a value is not assessed.
Collection Maintenance
Review of the collection takes place continuously. Items are evaluated for retention, withdrawal or replacement. The same guidelines apply to the existing collection as to new purchases, and materials that no longer meet the collection policy will be removed from the shelf. For example, materials that are outdated, damaged, seldom circulated, or contain inaccurate information will be removed. Faculty may be consulted when materials in their disciplines are being considered for withdrawal.
Damaged or missing materials are not automatically replaced, but are subject to a reorder review process. If the item still meets the collection development policy, the original material or a new edition will be ordered, if available.
The following criteria are considered when making the decision to retain, replace or withdraw:
• significance and relevance to current holdings
• presence of multiple copies
• award winning; international, national and state level
• availability of new works
• titles in a series
• circulation statistics
• age and physical condition
• budget constraints
• ease of replacement
• shelf space
Textbooks
General Comments
The East Central College Library does not actively purchase textbooks for the collection. They may be purchased when no other source of general topic information is available.
Responsibility for Collection Development
All library patrons are encouraged to provide suggestions for library purchases. In addition, librarians act as liaisons and consult with faculty of each academic department for recommendations. Librarians also utilize selection tools such as review publications, bibliographies, and publisher catalogs to select material. The Director of Library Services has final responsibility for collection development.
Development Plan
While not actively adding textbooks to the collection, ECC Library is aware of students desire to have textbooks available. In order to meet this, East Central College Library
•offers faculty the option of course reserves. Faculty may provide a textbook to the library for in library use or limited check out.
•occasionally includes older editions within the collection if received as donation and meets collection development policy.
•is a member of the Open Textbook Network (July 2017)
Leisure Fiction/Non Fiction
General Comments
The East Central College Library’s leisure collection supports undergraduate and faculty reading across all recreational needs as well as curricula. This collection consists of fiction and nonfiction print and audiobooks from leased and purchased companies. This collection is timely and can be reflective of current trends in culture.
Responsibility for Collection Development
All library patrons are encouraged to provide suggestions for library purchases. In addition, librarians act as liaisons and consult with faculty of each academic department for recommendations. Librarians also utilize selection tools such as review publications, bibliographies, and publisher catalogs to select material. The Director of Library Services has final responsibility for collection development.
Development Plan
The primary goal of this collection is to provide the resources and services necessary to meet the educational, recreational, cultural and informational needs of the library. The collection is intended to complement, rather than compete with local public library. In order to meet these goals, ECC Library:
• strives to provide a broad range of leisure materials to meet the variety of likes and needs of all patrons.
Fiction and non-fiction titles will be considered in both print and audio format.
• strives to provide a collection of leisure titles of high quality and accurate content to meet the needs and enjoyment of the intended audience.
• considers leased option before purchase. Making purchases of materials that will be retain in library collection and support the regular collection development policy.
• evaluates titles as a whole and not on the basis of particular scenes or segments. A title will not be excluded from the collection because it presents all aspects of life honestly or because it exhibits frankness of expression.
• evaluates patron requests either through reviews or knowledge and popularity. Patron requests are given serious consideration and added to the collection as warranted and as budget allows.
• evaluates the currency and timeliness of the material. Leisure materials on rapidly changing or ephemeral subjects may be leased.
• leases or purchases multiple copies of popular titles when patron demand warrants and as budget allows.
Formats
At the present time print and audio formats are collected. Print materials may be selected in hardback or paperback depending upon availability and pricing. Print materials will be leased as well as a small percentage purchased. Large print materials are not purchased. Audio materials are purchased in CD format. Majority of audio materials will be purchased shelf ready.
The library will review and consider formats as they change. As needed, additional formats will be included in the library’s collection development plan based on demand and current technology practices.
Influencing Factors
Purchases and buying patterns are determined in large part by:
• availability through leasing (print) and purchasing (print and audio) companies
• quality of content as determined by reputable critics or review sources
• present and potential relevance to the community
• patron requests
• circulation statistics
• budget constraints
• ease of replacement
• shelf space
Donations
Donated materials are accepted but ECC Library reserves the right to determine whether the materials are added to the collection. Materials are evaluated by the Director of Library Services and are subject to the same rules as new purchases when deciding on their inclusion. Materials that do not meet the collection development policy will be disposed of as Director sees fit, either through discard, book sale or donation. Receipt of donation will be given upon request, general description and number of items will be included and a value is not assessed.
Collection Maintenance
Review of the collection takes place continuously. Items are evaluated for retention, withdrawal or replacement. The same guidelines apply to the existing collection as to new purchases, and materials that no longer meet the collection policy will be removed from the shelf. For example, materials that are outdated, damaged, seldom circulated, or contain inaccurate information will be removed. Faculty may be consulted when materials in their disciplines are being considered for withdrawal.
Damaged or missing materials are not automatically replaced, but are subject to a reorder review process. If the item still meets the collection development policy, the original material or a new edition will be ordered, if available.
The following criteria are considered when making the decision to retain, replace or withdraw/return:
• significance and relevance to current holdings
• presence of multiple copies
• award winning; international, national and state level
• availability of new works
• titles in a series
• circulation statistics
• age and physical condition
• budget constraints
• ease of replacement
• shelf space
Print Journals/ Magazines
General Comments
The East Central College Library’s print journal collection supports undergraduate and faculty reading across all curricula and compliments recreation reading and the general library collection. This collection consists scholarly journals, opinion serials and magazines. This collection is timely and can be reflective of current trends in culture. This collection is retained for a variety of times, from 6 months to 5 years.
Responsibility for Collection Development
All library patrons are encouraged to provide suggestions for library purchases. In addition, librarians act as liaisons and consult with faculty of each academic department for recommendations. Librarians also utilize selection tools such as review publications, bibliographies, and publisher catalogs to select material. The Director of Library Services has final responsibility for collection development.
Development Plan
The primary goal of this collection is to provide print journals to meet the educational needs of the college community as well as print magazines to fulfill their recreational, cultural and informational needs. The collection is intended to complement, rather than compete with online databases. In order to meet these goals, ECC Library:
• strives to provide a collection of print journals of high quality and accurate content to meet the needs and enjoyment of the intended audience.
• considers subscription costs and commitment. Making purchases of journals that support the regular collection development policy.
• evaluates titles as a whole and not on the basis of particular article, journalist or publisher. A title will not be excluded from the collection because it presents all aspects of life honestly or because it exhibits frankness of expression.
• evaluates patron requests either through reviews or knowledge and popularity. Patron requests are given serious consideration and added to the collection as warranted and as budget allows.
• evaluates the currency and timeliness of the material.
Formats
Print is collected, occasionally the title will come with online option and it is made available through Library iPads.
Influencing Factors
Purchases and buying patterns are determined in large part by:
• availability through purchasing company
• institutional subscription availability
• quality of content as determined by reputable critics or review sources
• present and potential relevance to the community
• patron requests
• circulation statistics
• budget constraints
• shelf space
Donations
Donated journals/magazines are not added to the Library collection. These titles are usually purchased under individual subscription and cannot be circulated through libraries.
EBSCO business subscription. In the past, businesses have donated subscriptions to the Library through EBSCO Subscription Company. A cover binder with business advertisement was placed on the most recent issue and placed on front facing shelves. New business subscription donations should be routed through ECC Foundation.
Collection Maintenance
Review of the collection takes place at time of renewal, February for June renewal and July for January renewal.
Subscriptions are reviewed for availability through current online databases as well a purchase through online vendors.
Faculty may be consulted when subscriptions in their disciplines are being considered non-renewal. Older or discontinued issues are offered to faculty first prior to booksale or recycling.
The following criteria are considered when making the decision to renew subscription:
• availability in PDF format in current online subscriptions
• circulation statistics
• budget constraints
• shelf space
•contributes to collection as a whole with a variety of voices and viewpoints
•faculty input for academic program requirements
Patron damaged or missing issues will not be replaced. Publisher or mail damaged issues will be replaced at availability of publisher.
Current subscriptions are removed at 6 months, 1 year, 2 year and 5 year intervals depending on established guidelines:
• frequency
• physical size
• “shelf life” of content
DVDs/Blu-Rays/Streaming
General Comments
The East Central College Library visual collection supports undergraduate study, faculty instruction and research across all curricula and recreational needs. This collection consists of nonfiction and fiction DVDs in a wide variety of general subjects for all ages.
Responsibility for Collection Development
All library patrons are encouraged to provide suggestions for library purchases. In addition, librarians act as liaisons and consult with faculty of each academic department for recommendations. Librarians also utilize selection tools such as review publications, bibliographies, and publisher catalogs to select material. The Director of Library Services has final responsibility for collection development.
Development Plan
The primary goal of this collection is to provide the resources and services necessary to meet the educational, recreational, cultural and informational needs of the library. The collection is intended to complement, rather than compete with other videos sources, by offering a different collection focus. In order to meet these goals, East Central College Library:
• strives to provide a broad range of video to meet the variety of likes and needs of all patrons.
• strives to provide a collection of high quality performances and accurate content to meet the needs and enjoyment of the video's intended audience.
• evaluates video programs as a whole and not on the basis of particular scenes or segments. A video will not be excluded from the collection because it presents all aspects of life honestly or because it exhibits frankness of expression.
• evaluates patron requests either through reviews or knowledge and popularity of the video. Patron requests are given serious consideration and added to the collection as warranted and as budget allows.
• evaluates the currency and timeliness of the material. Videos on rapidly changing or ephemeral subjects are not purchased.
• purchases multiple copies of popular titles when patron demand warrants and as budget allows.
Formats
At the present time, DVDs are being actively added to the collection. VHS tapes will not be purchased. For DVDs, only Region 1 coding will be purchased. Presently Blu-Rays may be purchased as a Blu-ray/DVD combo pack if within $3 cost of single DVD cost or a specific film is requested by a faculty member and that film is only available in the Blu-ray format. Digital copies of Blu-ray or DVDs are activated through a single library account and available for individual viewing on library devices such as iPads and Kindles. Streaming videos vendors are used for classroom curriculum focused access. Streaming titles are most often recommended by faculty and directly impact the classroom. Streaming videos may be limited to budget allowances.
The library will review and consider formats as they change. As needed, additional formats will be included in the library’s collection development plan based on demand and current technology practices.
Influencing Factors
Purchases and buying patterns are determined in large part by:
•support of the ECC educational curriculum
• quality of content as determined by reputable critics or review sources
• award winning; international, national and state level
• present and potential relevance to the community
•appropriate educational level
• demand
• price appropriateness
• budget constraints
• condition
• shelf space
Donations/Gifts
Donated materials are accepted but ECC Library reserves the right to determine whether the materials are added to the collection. Materials are evaluated by the Director of Library Services and are subject to the same rules as new purchases when deciding on their inclusion. Materials that do not meet the collection development policy will be disposed of as Director sees fit, either through discard, book sale or donation. Receipt of donation will be given upon request, general description and number of items will be included and a value is not assessed.
Collection Maintenance
Review of the collection takes place continuously. Items are evaluated for retention, withdrawal or replacement. The same guidelines apply to the existing collection as to new purchases, and materials that no longer meet the collection policy will be removed from the shelf. For example, materials that are outdated, damaged, seldom circulated, or contain inaccurate information will be removed. Faculty may be consulted when materials in their disciplines are being considered for withdrawal.
Damaged or missing materials are not automatically replaced, but are subject to a reorder review process. If the item still meets the collection development policy, the original material or a new edition will be ordered, if available.
The following criteria are considered when making the decision to retain, replace or withdraw:
• significance and relevance to current holdings
• presence of multiple copies
• award winning; international, national and state level
• availability of new works
• titles in a series
• circulation statistics
• age and physical condition
• budget constraints
• ease of replacement
• shelf space
Government Documents
General Comments
The East Central College Library is not a depository for federal or state government documents. Government publications are selected according to regular collection development policy and are shelved in the library general collection.
Responsibility for Collection Development
All library patrons are encouraged to provide suggestions for library purchases. In addition, librarians act as liaisons and consult with faculty of each academic department for recommendations. Librarians also utilize selection tools such as review publications, bibliographies, and publisher catalogs to select material. The Director of Library Services has final responsibility for collection development.
Development Plan
Refer to regular collection development policy.
Formats
At the present time a variety of formats are collected, included videos, electronic, print, and audio. Government documents may fall under any or all of these formats and are collected once the format of material policy is reviewed.
The library will review and consider formats as they change. As needed, additional formats will be included in the library’s collection development plan based on demand and current technology practices.
Influencing Factors
Purchases and buying patterns are determined in large part by:
•support of the ECC educational curriculum
• quality of content as determined by reputable critics or review sources
• award winning; international, national and state level
• present and potential relevance to the community
•appropriate educational level
• demand
• price appropriateness
• budget constraints
• condition
• shelf space
Donations
Donated materials are accepted but ECC Library reserves the right to determine whether the materials are added to the collection. Materials are evaluated by the Director of Library Services and are subject to the same rules as new purchases when deciding on their inclusion. Materials that do not meet the collection development policy will be disposed of as Director sees fit, either through discard, book sale or donation. Receipt of donation will be given upon request, general description and number of items will be included and a value is not assessed.
Collection Maintenance
Review of the collection takes place continuously. Items are evaluated for retention, withdrawal or replacement. The same guidelines apply to the existing collection as to new purchases, and materials that no longer meet the collection policy will be removed from the shelf. For example, materials that are outdated, damaged, seldom circulated, or contain inaccurate information will be removed. Faculty may be consulted when materials in their disciplines are being considered for withdrawal.
Damaged or missing materials are not automatically replaced, but are subject to a reorder review process. If the item still meets the collection development policy, the original material or a new edition will be ordered, if available.
The following criteria are considered when making the decision to retain, replace or withdraw:
• significance and relevance to current holdings
• presence of multiple copies
• award winning; international, national and state level
• availability of new works
• titles in a series
• circulation statistics
• age and physical condition
• budget constraints
• ease of replacement
• shelf space